الحوكمة المؤسسية: خطوة كبيرة نحو بناء اقتصاد مستدام
الحوكمة المؤسسية: خطوة كبيرة نحو بناء اقتصاد مستدام
مؤلف: جمال فخرو

في مقالة هذا الأسبوع، يتحدث جمال فخرو، الشريك المدير في كيه بي أم جي في البحرين وقطر، ورئيس مجلس إدارة كيه بي أم جي الشرق الأوسط وجنوب آسيا، وعضو مجلس إدارة مبادرة بيرل، عن دور الحوكمة المؤسسية في بناء الاقتصاديات المستدامة.

نُشرت المقالة الأصلية في جريدة جلف ديلي نيوز.

قطعت الدول في منطقة الخليج شوطاً كبيراً في النقاش حول الحوكمة المؤسسية على مدار السنوات القليلة الماضية. غير أنه يلزم رفع أصواتنا على الساحة العالمية حتى تكون الشركات التي تتخذ من منطقة الخليج مقراً لها قادرة على المنافسة ومؤهلة للعمل في عالمنا المعاصر.

وتتضح مدى الحاجة لإحداث تأثير أكبر في هذا المجال عند النظر إلى مؤشر الشركات الأكثر أخلاقية في العالم لعام 2016 والصادر مؤخراً عن معهد إثيسفير والذي يضم مؤسسات عالمية تعمل في مختلف القطاعات، إذ نلاحظ غياب الشركات المحلية في منطقة الخليج عن التصنيف.

وعلى أرض الواقع، تقوم الشركات المحلية في منطقة الخليج، والتي تمثل الشركات العائلية ما يزيد عن 80 في المائة منها، بإدارة مشاريع ناجحة تنمو عاماً بعد عام، وهو ما يبين أنها تمتاز ببنية سليمة. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا النجاح يواجه تحديات بسبب عدم وجود الحوكمة كجزء أصيل في عمليات الشركات.

وقد أصدرت مبادرة بيرل في عام 2013 تقريراً يفصّل ممارسات الحوكمة المؤسسية، بناءً على مقابلات شخصية مع أكثر من 100 قائد من قادة الشركات العائلية عبر منطقة الخليج. ومن المثير للدهشة أن 63 في المائة من المشاركين أكدوا أن شركاتهم تمتلك مدونة لأخلاقيات العمل، غير أن ثلث تلك المدونات فقط هي ما يتم تطبيقه. وعلاوة على ذلك، ذكر 45 في المائة أن شركاتهم لديها سياسات لمكافحة الفساد، لكن لا يقوم بتطبيق هذه السياسات سوى ثلث هذه النسبة. وذكر 30 في المائة فقط أن لديهم شكلاً من أشكال سياسات الإبلاغ عن المخالفات، لكن نسبة ضعيفة جداً من هذه السياسات تتمتع بالاستقلالية أو تحمي هوية المبلغ بصورة كافية.

ويشير هذا بدوره إلى مدى الحاجة لإعطاء دفعة قوية لتمكين أخلاقيات العمل والشفافية، ومن شأن هذا أن يساعد في القضاء على المحسوبية واتخاذ القرارات غير العادلة في بيئة الشركات العائلية، ويبني بدلاً من ذلك ثقافة قائمة على الجدارة والكفاءة مما يعزز النمو التجاري المستدام على المدى الطويل. وينطبق هذا على جميع مستويات العمل التجاري، مما يؤدي إلى تحقيق الفاعلية والمحاسبة على مستوى مجالس الإدارة والمدراء التنفيذيين في المستويات المتوسطة والثانوية.

ومع وجود عدد كبير من الشركات العاملة في قطاع المشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة، ستصبح الحوكمة المؤسسية عاملاً حاسماً في جذب الاستثمارات وخلق فرص العمل. كما ستساعد في إشراك المواطنين من الشباب والسيدات، الذين سيلعبون دوراً مركزياً في الدفع قدماً بالتنمية الاقتصادية.

كما تستطيع سياسات الحوكمة القوية أن تدعم تطوير شراكات جديدة، وأفكار جديدة، واستراتيجيات جديدة لإدارة العمل التجاري. وعندما يصبح الابتكار والمعرفة من المجالات ذات الأولوية لدى القطاعين الحكومي والخاص، يمكن للحوكمة الرشيدة أن تلعب دوراً مهماً في خلق بيئة متنوعة ومواتية.

وفي المقابل، يمكن أن يكون غياب ممارسات الحوكمة المؤسسية القوية بمثابة عائق أمام استمرار الأعمال. وهذا لأن الافتقار إلى الشفافية يتسبب في عدم الرضا وفي ارتفاع معدل دوران الموظفين، ناهيك عن انعدام الثقة بين الأطراف المعنية الخارجية. في حين أن وجود منظومة واضحة المعالم من الأخلاقيات والسياسات سيضمن عدم خضوع الشركة وأطرافها المعنية للتصورات المتباينة أو الغموض. وينبغي أن تحدد هذه السياسات تحديداً شاملاً إجراءات التدقيق وبروتوكولات الامتثال وأدوات الدعم وحقوق الموظفين أو الأطراف الثالثة إلى غير ذلك من الضروريات.

وفي بادرة إيجابية، تتخذ الحكومات الخليجية من جانبها خطوات نحو تطبيق إطار تنظيمي قوي لتسهيل الحوكمة المؤسسية على مستوى الشركات. وفي عام 2010، قامت البحرين بتحديث وإصدار مدونة جديدة للحوكمة المؤسسية تتألف من تسع قواعد، وتنطبق على الشركات العامة الخاصة بالمملكة. وتوضح هذه المدونة معايير الحد الأدنى وأفضل الممارسات الخاصة بالحوكمة المؤسسية، وجاء تطبيق هذه المدونة كإضافة للأحكام المنصوص عليها بالفعل في تشريعات دولة البحرين. وقد ساعدت هذه المدونة في إحداث تغيير شامل في أسس العمل التجاري، عن طريق تشجيع الاستثمار وزيادة الثقة لدى المستثمرين.

وسوف تستفيد دول مثل قطر والإمارات، اللتان تستعدان لاستقبال تدفق من السائحين قبل الفعاليات الكبرى وتعززان باستمرار سياساتهما لجذب الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر، أيما إفادة من مثل هذا التحول الهيكلي. ولعل أهم مقتضيات اللحظة الراهنة هي وضع نهج “للرقابة غير المركزية” يدعم ريادة الأعمال والعمل التجاري المسؤول بطريقة ذات نظرة مستقبلية.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Corporate Governance: A strong step towards a sustainable economy
Corporate Governance: A strong step towards a sustainable economy
Author: Jamal Fakhro

In this week’s guest blog, Jamal Fakhro, Managing Partner for KPMG in Bahrain and Qatar, Chairman of the Board of KPMG Middle East and South Asia sub region & Board Member of Pearl Initiative talks about how corporate governance leads to creating sustainable economies.

The original article was published by Gulf Daily News.

Countries in the Gulf region have made significant headway in cultivating a dialogue around corporate governance over the last few years. Our voices, however, need to be amplified at the global stage in order for GCC-based companies to be competitive and relevant in today’s world.

Illustrating this need for a greater impact is the recently issued 2016 Ethisphere index of the World’s Most Ethical Companies, which features global enterprises operating in various sectors, and lacks representation from indigenous companies in the GCC region.

In reality, local businesses in the GCC, of which over 80 per cent are family-owned, are running successful ventures that grow year-on-year, which goes to show that they are structurally sound. Even so, their success is challenged by the absence of governance as an intrinsic part of the company’s operations.

The Pearl Initiative, in 2013, issued a report charting corporate governance practices, based on face-to-face interviews with over 100 family firm leaders across the GCC region. Interestingly 63 per cent of respondents confirmed that they have a code of ethics, but that only a third of those are implemented. In addition, 45 per cent said they have an anti-corruption policy, of which only one-third implemented them. Only 30 per cent said they have some form of a whistle-blowing policy, but very few are independent or adequately protect anonymity.

This signals the need for a stronger push to enable ethics and transparency, which in a family-business environment helps in stamping out nepotism, unfair decision-making, and instead builds a culture of competency, which promotes sustainable business growth in the long term. This applies at all levels of the business, accounting for the effectiveness and accountability of the board of directors, to mid and junior-level executives.

Specifically, with a large number of businesses operating in the SME sector, corporate governance will be crucial to attracting investment and creating job opportunities. It will also help to engage local youth and women, who will play a central role in economic development moving forward.

Robust governance policies can also foster new partnerships, new ideas and new strategies to approaching business. At a time when innovation and knowledge are priority areas for the government and private sectors, good governance can play an important role in creating a diverse, enabling environment.

On the other hand, the absence of strong corporate governance practices can act as a constraint on business sustenance. This is because the lack of transparency causes discontent, a high turnover rate, and not to mention distrust among external stakeholders. Whereas, a clearly outlined system of ethics and policies will ensure that the company and its stakeholders are not subject to varied perceptions or ambiguity. These policies should comprehensively define auditing procedures, compliance protocols, support tools, and rights of employees or other parties – to name a few essentials.

As a positive, the GCC governments, on their part, are taking steps to implement a strong regulatory framework to facilitate corporate governance at an enterprise level. In 2010, Bahrain updated and issued a new corporate governance code, consisting of nine principles, which apply to the country’s public companies, and outlines minimum standards and best practices for corporate governance, adding to the clauses which were already present within Bahrain’s legislative mandate. The code has enabled a sea-change in business fundamentals, by encouraging investment and increasing investor confidence.

Countries such as Qatar and the UAE, which are preparing for an influx of tourists ahead of mega-events and continually enhancing policies to attract foreign direct investment (FDI), will tremendously benefit from such a structural makeover. The need of the hour is a ‘decentralized control’ approach that will support entrepreneurship and responsible business in a forward-looking way.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.