إمكانية تحويل المبادئ الأخلاقية إلى ميزة تنافسية
إمكانية تحويل المبادئ الأخلاقية إلى ميزة تنافسية
مؤلف: إميلدا دنلوب

الالتزام بالمبادئ الأخلاقية التجارية قد يفيد الشركات الخليجية الراغبة في توسيع نطاق أعمالها

بقلم إميلدا دنلوب، خاص بصحيفة جلف نيوز، تاريخ النشر: 12:38 19 أغسطس 2014

بينما تواصل الاقتصادات في دول الخليج العربي نموها بعد الأزمة، نرى الآن أدلة تؤكد تزايد التكامل المنطقة مع الاقتصاد العالمي من حيث التجارة وتدفق رؤوس الأموال، وهو الأمر الذي يعزى في الغالب للسياسات المؤاتية لفتح الأسواق والحدود.

ولا شك أن ترقية مؤشر مورغان ستانلي كابيتال إنترنايشونال (MSCI) لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة إلى مرتبة السوق الناشئة في شهر يونيو سوف يشجع على المزيد من التكامل الاقتصادي وجلب المزيد من الاستثمارات الدولية إلى المنطقة. ويمنح إعادة التصنيف الشركات المدرجة في البورصة، بصفة خاصة، فرصة كبيرة لتعزيز هياكل الحوكمة المؤسسية وتطوير استراتيجيات علاقاتها مع المستثمرين بما يتماشى مع المعايير الدولية.

وهناك الكثير من الشركات في دول الخليج العربي التي تستفيد بشكل كامل من الفرص الدولية لتحقق نمواً كبيراً عن طريق النمو الطبيعي للأعمال أو من خلال أنشطة التملك والاستحواذ على السواء. وليست شركة سابك ومجموعة ماجد الفطيم سوى نموذجين من النماذج الكثيرة التي تتبادر إلى الذهن.

وقد جاءت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في المركز الثالث والعشرين من بين 189 دولة على قائمة مؤشر “سهولة ممارسة أنشطة الأعمال” الصادر عن البنك الدولي لعام 2014، بينما احتلت المملكة العربية السعودية المرتبة السادسة والعشرين. وعلى جانب آخر، جاءت دولتي الإمارات العربية المتحدة وقطر في مرتبتين متقدمتين نسبياً على مؤشر تصورات الفساد الصادر عن منظمة الشفافية الدولية لعام 2013، إذ جاءتا في المركزين السادس والعشرين والثامن والعشرين على التوالي من إجمالي 177 دولة شملها التصنيف.

ويفسر هذا التقدم الذي سجلته دول منطقة الخليج في السنوات الأخيرة على الصعيد الاقتصادي فيما يتعلق بالتجارة والأعمال والمساءلة والشفافية، كما أنه يبشر الشركات والمؤسسات الخليجية التي لها استراتيجيات توسع دولي كبير بمستقبل واعد. ويتضح للعيان أيضاً وجود تباين هائل في الأداء قياساً على هذه المعايير في العديد من المناطق، إذ تسجل بعض المناطق أداءً متميزاً بصفة عامة، بينما تأتي مناطق أخرى في قاع التصنيف. ومن المؤسف أن نقول إن 84 بالمائة من دول منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا تعاني من مشكلات فساد خطيرة طبقاً لتقارير منظمة الشفافية الدولية.

وحتى تتوسع مؤسسات دول الخليج العربي وتنافس بفعالية في الأسواق الأكثر تقدماً التي تتصدر عادة هذه الأنواع من التصنيفات، فمن الضروري بمكان أن تطبق أفضل ممارسات الحوكمة ومعايير مكافحة الفساد تطبيقاً صارماً. وفيما يخص الأسواق النامية الأكثر تعقيداً، من المهم أيضاً إيلاء الكثير من الاهتمام بدقة التنفيذ والإنفاذ في العمل، إذ إن هذا هو الموطن الذي يمكن أن تكمن فيه أعلى المخاطر.

وتعتبر مؤسسة غلفتينر التي تتخذ من الشارقة مقراً لها نموذجاً لمؤسسة خاصة تتمتع بجذور راسخة في منطقة الخليج العربي وتتوسع بشكل ناجح على الصعيد الدولي بناءً على القيم الأساسية للنزاهة وعدم التسامح مطلقاً مع الفساد. وتعتبر هذه المؤسسة أكبر شركة خاصة لإدارة الموانئ وتقديم الخدمات اللوجستية في العالم، ويبلغ عدد موظفيها 4500 عامل في 15 دولة من بينها الولايات المتحدة.

ويرى بيتر ريتشاردز، العضو المنتدب لغلفتينر، أن التزامهم بمدونة أخلاقيات راسخة هو ما مكنهم من الدخول إلى الأسواق الدولية بنجاح. ويُطالب الموظفون بدءاً من أول يوم لهم بأداء أعمالهم “على أفضل نحو، وليس بأسهل طريقة” ويؤمن ريتشاردز بأهمية تقديم القدوة العملية لموظفيه.

وقد كانت هناك مناسبات عديدة أدى فيها هذا العهد إلى تأخير المشروعات حتى تلتزم بأفضل ممارسات الحوكمة، لكن ريتشاردز لم يتردد أبداً في ذلك. ويعتقد ريتشاردز أن الانطباع الأول وطريقة تصرفك عند دخولك إلى سوق جديدة يظل الانطباع الدائم لكيفية مزاولة الشركة لأعمالها.

وبغية الدخول إلى السوق العراقية في عام 2010، تلقت غلفتينر تمويلاً من مؤسسة التمويل الدولية، وهو ما يستلزم أن تقوم مؤسسة التمويل بإجراء دراسة عناية واجبة موسعة لممارسات الحوكمة المؤسسية ومكافحة الفساد المطبقة. ويشير هذا التمويل ضمنياً للمستثمرين والأطراف المعنية أن المؤسسة قد وصلت إلى معيار محدد.

ولتشجيع المزيد من المؤسسات الإقليمية على اتخاذ خطوة جريئة بالدخول إلى الأسواق الدولية، يلزم تشجيع هذه المؤسسات على اعتماد مستوى متعارف عليه من أفضل ممارسات العمل. ولمواجهة التصورات والانطباعات المتعلقة بالفساد وجعل هذه الشركات في أفضل حالة إيجابية تضمن لها تحقيق النجاح على الصعيد الدولي، يجب إرساء مستويات النزاهة والتأكيد على الالتزام بها وعدم تخفيض سقف هذه الالتزامات مطلقاً.

ومن الأمور الواعدة بدرجة كبيرة أن عدداً متزايداً من المؤسسات الخليجية يسعى للتوسع دولياً، ولكن من الواضح أنه يجب وضع بعض السياسات المتعلقة بتطبيق الحوكمة موضع التطبيق حتى ينجح هذا النمو.

وقد يستغرق الدخول إلى سوق جديدة وقتاً أطول من المتوقع لأن كل شيء يجب تنفيذه حسب الأصول. ومن المهم أيضاً أن يتم اتباع الخطوات اللازمة. وإذا استمرت الكيانات ذات التاريخ المشرف في القيادة بالقدوة العملية، فإن إمكانية أن تحذو حذوها المؤسسات الأصغر حجماً والأقل شهرة ستكون أكثر واقعية.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Ethics can be turned into competitive advantage
Ethics can be turned into competitive advantage
Author: Imelda Dunlop

As GCC economies continue to grow post-crisis, we are seeing evidence of increasing integration with the global economy, in terms of trade and capital flows, often as a result of policies geared towards the opening up of markets and borders.

The MSCI upgrade of the UAE to emerging market status in June should also spur further economic integration and international investment into the region. The reclassification offers listed companies, in particular, a significant opportunity to enhance their corporate governance structures and develop their investor relations strategies in line with international standards.

In tandem, there are many GCC companies that are taking full advantage of international opportunities to achieve significant growth, both organically and through acquisition. SABIC and Majid Al Futtaim are just a couple of examples that spring straight to mind.

The World Bank’s ‘Ease of Doing Business’ Ranking 2014 placed the UAE at 23 and Saudi Arabia at 26 out of 189 countries. Similarly, the UAE and Qatar ranked relatively well on Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index 2013, by placing 26 and 28 respectively out of a total 177 countries ranked.

This illustrates the progress that has been made in recent years in the GCC on aspects of their economies related to trade, business, accountability and transparency — and this is promising for GCC firms with aggressive international expansion strategies. What is also clear is the vast variations in performances based on these metrics across the many regions — from the consistently excellent to the abysmal. Unfortunately, according to Transparency International, 84 per cent of MENA countries are perceived to have a serious corruption problem.

For GCC firms to expand and compete effectively in the most developed markets, which usually top these sorts of rankings, it is inherent that best practices on governance and anticorruption standards are firmly in place. In the most difficult developing markets, it is equally important that as much attention is paid to rigorous implementation and enforcement right across the business, as this is where the highest risks can lie.

Gulftainer, headquartered in Sharjah, is an example of a privately-held firm with strong GCC roots that is expanding successfully internationally based on the fundamental values of integrity and a zero-tolerance approach to corruption. Gulftainer is the largest privately-owned port management and logistics company in the world, with 4,500 staff in 15 countries, including the US.

Peter Richards, Managing Director of Gulftainer, believes that it is their commitment to a firm ethics code that has allowed them to enter international markets successfully. From their first day, employees are required to do things “the best way, not the easy way” and he believes in setting an example for his staff.

There have been a numerous occasions when this pledge has seen projects delayed in order to follow best practice governance, but he has never wavered. He believes that the first impression and how you behave upon entering a new market remain the lasting impression of how you do business.

In expanding into the Iraqi market in 2010, Gulftainer received IFC funding, which requires extensive due diligence by the IFC on implemented corporate governance and anticorruption practices. This signifies to investors and stakeholders that a certain standard has been reached.

To encourage more regional firms to take the bold step of entering international markets, we need to encourage a widely accepted level of best business practice. To counter the perception of corruption and position these companies in the most positive way to ensure international success, levels of integrity must be established, followed and never lowered.

It is hugely promising that an increasing number of GCC firms looking to expand internationally, but it is clear that certain policies pertaining to governance implementation must be firmly set in place for the growth to be a success.

Entry into a new market can take longer than anticipated because everything has to be done by the book. But it is important that the necessary steps are followed. If entities with the right track record continue to lead by example, the potential for smaller and less well-known firms to follow suit will be much more realistic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.