الحاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من البحوث حول حوكمة الشركات في الشرق الأوسط
الحاجة إلى إجراء المزيد من البحوث حول حوكمة الشركات في الشرق الأوسط
مؤلف: إميلدا دنلوب

إنه لمن الملفت للنظر النقص الكبير في البحوث المتاحة حول قضايا حوكمة الشركات والتطوير وتنفيذ سياسات الحوكمة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. ونحن، في مبادرة بيرل، نفعل ما في وسعنا لمعالجة هذا النقص واجراء المزيد من البحوث، وذلك لتسليط مزيد من الضوء على الممارسات المطبقة في شركات المنطقة.

واعتقد أنه من المفيد للغاية، في مدونة هذا الأسبوع، إعطاء لمحة سريعة عن أحدث الأبحاث التي تم نشرها حول حوكمة الشركات في المنطقة.

يبدو أن قدراً لا بأس به من البحوث الحديثة والتي تم نشرها على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية قد صدر عن منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية، حيث أن هناك عدداً من البحوث الإقليمية المتعمقة التي المتاحة على موقعهم على الانترنت. وكما تتوقعون، تركز منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية على مستوى وضع وتطوير السياسات.

ويعد أحد هذه التقارير الذي يوفر مقارنة مفيدة بين تطبيقات حوكمة الشركات على مستوى الدول المختلفة في المنطقة “استطلاع منظمة التعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية حول أطر حوكمة الشركات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا”، والذي نشرت نسخته الأولية مؤخراً في العام 2011. وتكشف النسخة الأولية من المسح ردوداً مفصلة من بعض بلدان المنطقة، كما أن الجهود جارية لزيادة عدد الدول المشمولة في نتائج المسح النهائية. ويغطي المسح مجالات مثل متطلبات حوكمة الشركات الواردة في التشريعات الوطنية الخاصة بالشركات والأوراق المالية، والأنظمة ومدونات السلوك الطوعية، وحقوق المساهمين والتصويت؛ وشروط الافصاح والتقارير المالية في الشركات المدرجة، ومسؤولية مجلس الإدارة ولجانه ومتطلبات تعيين عضو مجلس الإدارة المستقل.

وصدر تقرير آخر مؤخراً عن منظمة التعاون والتنمية في العام 2012، بعنوان: “نحو ترتيبات جديدة لملكية الدولة في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا”. ويناقش التقرير الأولويات الإقليمية مثل تنظيم الملكية وترشيح وعمل مجالس الشركات المملوكة للدولة. كما أنه يتناول المشاريع الخاصة بكل دولة رحبت باقتراحات المنظمة، مثل تقديم الدعم لتطبيق ممارسات الحوكمة في الشركات المملوكة للدولة في بلدان معينة.

ويتناول تقرير منظمة التعاون والتنمية حول “دور أسواق الأوراق المالية في منطقة شمال إفريقيا والشرق الأوسط في حوكمة الشركات”، والذي نشر في العام 2012، دور أسواق الأوراق المالية في المنطقة في تطبيقات حوكمة الشركات للشركات المدرجة. وهو يلخص التطورات الأخيرة التي تؤثر على أسواق الأوراق المالية في المنطقة، ويبرز الأمثلة ذات الصلة بمساهمة الأسواق المالية في تطوير إدارة أفضل للشركات المدرجة، ويدرس بعض التحديات التي تواجهها الجهات المنظمة لأسواق الأوراق المالية في هذا الشأن. وتم تطويره التقرير من خلال النقاشات والبحوث التي أجريت مع الجهات ذات العلاقة والردود التي جمعت بواسطة مسح أرسل لثماني بورصات عربية.

وعلى مستوى ممارسات الشركات في المنطقة، هناك نوعان من التقارير المتاحة التي تحتوي دراسات حالة فردية مفيدة تسلط الضوء على الممارسات الجيدة لحوكمة الشركات في المنطقة:

  1. “قصص نجاح في حوكمة الشركات”، والتي نشرت في العام 2010 من قبل مؤسسة التمويل الدولية. وتحتوي هذه الدراسة على 11 دراسة حالة من شركات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وتشير هذه الدراسات بوضوح على الفوائد العملية الناتجة عن تبني الممارسات الجيدة في حوكمة الشركات
  2. “النهوض بحوكمة الشركات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا: قصص وحلول”، والذي نشر في العام 2011 من قبل مركز المشروعات الدولية الخاصة والمنتدى العالمي لحوكمة الشركات. ويصف هذا التقرير كيف قامت 11 شركة في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا  بتحسين ممارساتها في حوكمة الشركات من خلال عملية تدريجية رجعت بالفائدة على أدائها ونموها.

وقد تم تقديم تحليل كلي المستوى للممارسات الحالية في مجالس إدارة الشركات، استناداً إلى مسح تجريه كل عامين منظمة أعضاء مجالس الإدارات في دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي. ونشرت آخر استطلاع في العام 2011 بعنوان “انطلاق الرحلة: مراجعة لفعالية مجالس الإدارات في الخليج العربي”، ويغطي الاستطلاع مجالات مثل تكوين مجلس الإدارة، ومسؤوليات عضو مجلس الإدارة، وعمليات مجلس الإدارة وتقييم مجلس الإدارة.

ونحن، في مبادرة بيرل، نعمل على بناء مركز للموارد على موقعنا الالكتروني، مع روابط الكترونية لجميع البحوث المتاحة والمنشورات والمبادرات التي تركز على منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا، وسيشكل المركز مصدر معرفياً للراغبين في الحصول السهل على معلومات وتحليلات ومنشورات مفيدة.

ونرجو منكم اطلاعنا على أية مبادرات إضافية أو منشورات ينبغي علينا أن نضمها إلى مركز مواردنا!

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

More Research Needed on Corporate Governance in the Middle East
More Research Needed on Corporate Governance in the Middle East
Author: Imelda Dunlop

It is striking that there is currently such a lack of available research on corporate governance issues, development and implementation in the Middle East. We are doing what we can, at the Pearl Initiative, to address this and produce more research, particularly from the perspective of shedding more light on implemented practices at the company level across the region.

I thought it would be useful, in this week’s blog, to give a snapshot of the most recent research we’re aware of that has been published on corporate governance topics in the region.

It seems that a fair amount of the regional up-to-date research that has been published over the last 3 years comes from the OECD – there are a number of insightful regionally-focused research reports all available on their website. As you would expect, OECD research tends to focus at the policy development level.

One such report that gives a useful comparison of some country-level corporate governance frameworks in the region is the “OECD Survey on Corporate Governance Frameworks in the Middle East and North Africa”, most recently published in draft form in 2011. The draft survey discloses fairly detailed survey responses from some MENA countries, and efforts are underway to increase the number of countries included in the final survey results. It covers such areas as corporate governance requirements contained in national corporate and securities legislation, regulations and voluntary codes; shareholders’ rights and voting; disclosure frameworks and reporting standards for listed companies; and Board responsibility, committees and independent director requirements.

Another recent report from the OECD, published in 2012, is “Towards New Arrangements for State Ownership in the Middle East and North Africa”. The report discusses regional priorities such as the

organisation of the ownership function and the nomination and functioning of SOE boards. It also builds on country-specific projects where the OECD’s input was welcomed, such as the support to establishing SOE corporate governance codes in particular countries.

The OECD report on the “Role of MENA Stock Exchanges in Corporate Governance”, also published in 2012, examines the role of MENA stock exchanges in corporate governance of listed companies. It summarises recent developments affecting stock exchanges in the region, highlights relevant examples of exchanges’ contribution to better governance of listed companies, and considers some ongoing challenges for exchanges and securities regulators in this regard. It was developed based on secondary research, preliminary discussions with industry participants and 8 survey responses from Arab bourses.

At the level of company practices within the region, there are two reports available that contain useful individual case studies of good corporate governance practices within the region:

1.“Corporate Governance Success Stories”, published in 2010 by the International Finance Corporation (IFC). This report contains 11 company case studies from within the MENA region and clearly makes the business case for adopting good practices

2.“Advancing Corporate Governance in the Middle East and North Africa: Stories and Solutions”, published in 2011 by the Center for International Private Enterprise (CIPE) and the Global Corporate Governance Forum. This report describes how 11 companies in the MENA region improved their corporate governance practices through a gradual process that benefited their performance and growth.

An aggregate level analysis of existing corporate Board practices, based on a survey done every 2 years, is produced by the GCC Board Directors Institute. The latest survey Embarking on a Journey: A Review of Board Effectiveness in the Gulf” was published in 2011 and covers areas such as Board composition, Directors’ accountabilities, Board processes and Board evaluation.

At the Pearl Initiative, we’re in the process of building a resource centre on our website, with links to all available research, publications and initiatives that have a MENA focus – a knowledge centre for those interested to be able to easily find useful information, analysis and editorials.

Please let us know if you are aware of any additional initiatives, research or publications that we should be including!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.