زيادة عدد الكوادر النسائية في المناصب الإدارية
زيادة عدد الكوادر النسائية في المناصب الإدارية
مؤلف: بقلم اميلدا دنلوب

نبدأ الآن في مبادرة بيرل في تنفيذ مجموعة من البرامج الرئيسية التي من شأنها تعريف قادة مؤسسات الأعمال بالطرق العملية لتعيين وترقية المرأة إلى المناصب العليا في منطقة مجلس التعاون الخليجي، ومن ثم إيجاد مجموعة أكبر من السيدات المؤهلات لشغل عضوية مجالس الإدارات. وترتبط جدوى زيادة مستويات التنوع في مجالس الإدارات وفرق الإدارة العليا ارتباطاً واضحاً بالأثر الإيجابي لهذا التنوع على عملية صنع القرارات الاستراتيجية، وتحسين الحوكمة، وتحقيق أقصى استفادة من المواهب، والفهم الجيد للأسواق المستهدفة.

وتضم المرحلة الأولى من برنامجنا إجراء استقصاء بحثي مكثف ونشر تقرير بالأفكار المتعمقة وتنظيم منتدى رفيع المستوى من المقرر عقده في شهر أكتوبر 2014. وسوف يشهد هذا المنتدى طرح التقرير وإجراء حوار بين قادة مؤسسات الأعمال حول القضايا المتناولة واستنتاجات التحليل وتبادل وتطوير الممارسات المؤسسية الجيدة.

ويتم تنفيذ البرنامج بالتعاون مع الاتفاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة ومجلس سيدات أعمال الشارقة، مما يسمح لنا بتحقيق أقصى استفادة ممكنة من أفضل الممارسات العالمية وضمان أن يكون عملنا موجهاً في الأساس إلى المنطقة ومناسباً لها.

وقد أجريت العديد من الدراسات حول العلاقة المتبادلة بين مجالس الإدارات التي تضم أعضاءً من كلا الجنسين وأداء الشركات، وخلص العديد من هذه الدراسات إلى نتائج إيجابية. فقد توصلت دراسة أجرتها منظمة كاتاليست لأفضل 500 شركة حسب قائمة مجلة فورتشن أن الشركات التي ترتفع نسبة السيدات في مجالس إدارتها تتفوق في أدائها عن الشركات الأخرى بنسبة 66 بالمائة. كما وجد معهد كريدت سويس ريسيرش على مدار السنوات الستة الماضية أن أداء الشركات التي تضم امرأة واحدة على الأقل في مجلس إدارتها تفوق على أداء الشركات الأخرى التي لا تشغل المرأة فيها أية مقاعد في مجلس الإدارة  بنسبة 26 في المائة.

وفي العام الماضي، أجرت مبادرة بيرل مقابلات مع ممثلين من أكثر من 100 مؤسسة وشركة عائلية في منطقة الخليج العربي، ووجدت المبادرة أن مجالس الإدارات في 32 بالمائة من هذه المؤسسات تضم أعضاءً من كلا الجنسين. وهذا يتناقض مع شغل المرأة لنسبة 1.5 بالمائة فقط من مقاعد مجالس إدارات الشركات المدرجة في منطقة الخليج. وينبؤنا هذا أن المشكلة الحرجة تتمثل في تعزيز مجموعة الكوادر النسائية الماهرة حتى تصل المرأة إلى مستويات الإدارة العليا داخل المؤسسات.

وعرضت شركة برايس وتر هاووس كوبرز تشبيهاً بليغاً في تقريرها العالمي لعام 2008 الذي صدر تحت عنوان “المسار المثقوب: أين قياداتنا النسائية؟”. وننقل عن التقرير ما يلي:

“تخيل أنك قائد مجتمع غني بالموارد بما في ذلك مورد مياه على درجة كبيرة من الأهمية، إذ أن لمورد المياه هذا قيمة بالغة لأنشطة مجتمعك ومحاصيله. ونظراً لأن المياه سلعة نادرة، يدفع المجتمع تكلفة باهظة للحصول عليه، فهو يوفر التربة الخصبة وقنوات التوزيع الكبيرة وينمّي المنتجات الرائعة. ويُعتبر مجتمعك مجتمعاً رائداً في قدرته على بناء بيئة قوية مستدامة، مما يستقطب مزيداً من الأفراد الراغبين في العيش في مجتمعك. وينبهك نظام المراقبة إلى وجود تسريب في خط أنابيب المياه الثمينة، وبالبحث يتبين وجود تسريب كبير في خط الأنابيب منذ فترة طويلة، مما أدى إلى اختفاء قدر كبير من المياه وذهابه إلى المجتمعات الأخرى التي يمر فيها خط الأنابيب. وبذلك تكون قد فقدت قدراً كبيراً جداً من المياه. وهذا يكلف مجتمعك مبالغ طائلة بسبب هدر الموارد وخسارة الإنتاجية وعدم تطوير البنية التحتية الفعلية لمجتمعك.

فماذا أنت فاعل؟

 هل ستنتظر فعلاً أن يقوم التسريب بإصلاح نفسه؟

 هل ستبذل الجهد المطلوب لإصلاح التسريب باعتباره أولوية؟

يعكس هذا التشبيه بخط أنابيب المياه الوضع الذي تجد فيه العديد من المؤسسات نفسها عندما تخسر باستمرار الكوادر النسائية الماهرة.

ويركز برنامج مبادرة بيرل المعني بالمرأة في المناصب الإدارية على معالجة هذا التسرب في الكوادر الماهرة في منطقة الخليج من أجل إلقاء الضوء على آراء النساء اللاتي يشغلن مناصب إدارية رفيعة وتجاربهن ومستقبلهن في هذه المناصب، والمشكلات والتوجهات والممارسات الجيدة المتعلقة بالتطور الوظيفي للمرأة في المؤسسات عبر مختلف أرجاء منطقة الخليج. كما سيقدم البرنامج قيمة للمؤسسات العاملة في المنطقة، من خلال عرض نظرة متعمقة حول تجارب القيادات النسائية الحالية والمحتملة، ومن ثم تمكين هذه المؤسسات من تقييم أدائها وتطوير مناهجها في زيادة عدد النساء في مناصب القيادة العليا وفي مجالس الإدارات.

ولم يسبق إعداد ونشر مثل هذا العمل في منطقة الخليج، ويُعتبر هذا البرنامج البحثي ذا أهمية خاصة في ظل الجهود التي تبذلها حكومات خليجية عدة لزيادة مستوى مشاركة المرأة في القوى العاملة والمناصب العليا ومجالس الإدارات.

تابعوا هذا البرنامج في عام 2014، حيث نقوم بتطوير فهم إقليمي عميق لهذا الموضوع واستخدامه في قيادة الحوار وإحراز التقدم في هذه القضية المهمة المتعلقة بالحوكمة المؤسسية في المنطقة!

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Strengthening the Pipeline of Women in Management
Strengthening the Pipeline of Women in Management
Author: Imelda Dunlop

Here at the Pearl Initiative, we are just embarking on a major Programme stream that will inform business leaders on practical methods to retain and develop women into senior positions in the GCC region, and thereby create a larger pool of Board-ready women. The business case for greater levels of senior management and board diversity is clearly linked to its positive impact on strategic decision making, better governance, maximum use of talent and closer understanding of target markets.

The first phase of our Programme consists of an extensive research survey, a published insight report and a high-profile Forum event, planned for October 2014. The Forum will launch the report and hold a dialogue for business leaders on the issues raised, the analysis conclusions and the sharing and development of good corporate practices.

The Programme is in collaboration with the United Nations Global Compact and the Sharjah Business Women Council (SBWC), allowing us to tap into global best practices and ensure that our work is fundamentally regionally-driven and relevant.

There have been several studies on the correlation between mixed-gender boards and company performance, and many find positive results. A study of Fortune 500 companies by Catalyst found that companies with the highest proportion of female board directors outperformed those with the least by 66 per cent. Credit Suisse Research Institute found that over the past six years, companies with at least one woman on the board outperformed stocks of companies with no women in those positions by 26 per cent.

Last year, the Pearl Initiative interviewed representatives from more than 100 family-owned firms in the GCC and found that 32 per cent had mixed-gender boards. This contrasts with women holding only 1.5 per cent of board positions in listed companies across the GCC. This tells us that strengthening the pipeline of talent through to senior management levels in organisations is the critical issue.

PricewaterhouseCoopers made a fascinating analogy in its global 2008 report “The Leaking Pipeline: Where are our Female Leaders?” I quote:

“Imagine you are the leader of a community with strong resources, including a critical water supply. The water supply is extremely precious to your community activities and outputs, and, because it is a limited commodity, you pay a premium to access it. It provides fertile land, great distribution channels and grows fantastic products. Your community is viewed as a leader in its ability to create a sustainable strong environment, which in itself attracts more people to live there. Your monitoring systems alert you that your precious water pipeline has a leak, and, as you investigate, it turns out that you have had a very substantial pipeline leak for a very long time, which results in a great deal of your water disappearing to other communities through which your pipeline passes. In fact, you have lost a great deal of water. This costs your community enormous amounts of money in wasted resource, loss of productivity, and loss of nurturing of your community’s physical infrastructure.

What would you do?

  • Would you honestly expect the leak to fix itself?
  • Would you make the effort involved in fixing the leak as a priority?

This water pipeline analogy clearly reflects the situation in which many organisations find themselves with regard to a continuing loss of female talent.

The Pearl Initiative Programme on Women in Management is focusing on strengthening this leaking pipeline of talent in the Gulf Region – to shed light on the perspectives, experiences and outlook of women in senior management positions, and the issues, trends and good practices when it comes to women’s career development in organisations across the GCC. It will also provide value to organisations in the region, through insight on the experiences of current and potential women leaders, thereby enabling them to benchmark themselves and develop approaches to increase the number of women in senior leadership and board-ready positions.

No such work has previously been carried out and published in the Gulf region, and this research programme is of particular relevance and interest in the light of several Gulf governments’ efforts to increase the level of participation of women in the workforce, in senior positions, and on boards of directors.

Watch this space through 2014, as we develop regional insight on this topic and use it to drive dialogue and progress on this important corporate governance issue in the region!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.