موجات الماء
موجات الماء
مؤلف: لارين آن فاليس

بوكاهونتاس: لاحظ موجات الماء

جون سميث: ماذا بها؟

الجدة ويلو: لاحظ كيف أنها تبدأ صغيرة جدا ثم تكبر تدريجيا، ولكن يجب أن يبدأها أحدهم

(فيلم بوكاهونتاس – إنتاج ديزني 1995)

إن الحياة تلقي في طريقنا بين الحين والآخر تجارب جديدة تؤدي بشكل حتمي ونهائي إلى تغيير طريقة نظرنا إلى العالم الذي نحيا به. وقد كانت مشاركتي في مسابقة مبادرة بيرل لدراسات الحالة بلا شك واحدة من هذه التجارب العميقة وأنا أشعر بالفخر والامتنان لمشاركتي بها. 

إذا طُلب مني، قبل ثمانية أشهر وثلاثة أسابيع وستة أيام وتسعة عشرة ساعة وسبع دقائق، تعريف مصطلح “الحوكمة المؤسسية” فلربما هززت كتفي وقلت شيء مثل: “حسناً، أليس هذا ما يحدث بعد وقوع انقلاب؟”. ولكن لم يعد علي أن أقلق بشأن ذلك، فبفضل مبادرة بيرل أصبحت قادرة اليوم على إعطاء رد مستفيض ومبني على خبرة. 

 في الفصل الثاني من السنة الأخيرة لي في الكلية أخبرتنا د. مريم فيكوسيلو عن فرصة المشاركة في مسابقة دراسات الحالة وعليه قمت مباشرة بالدخول على موقع الإنترنت لمعرفة المزيد حول ذلك، وقد حفزتني المعلومات التي قرأتها على المشاركة في المسابقة حيث أن هدف مبادرة بيرل هو تحسين مستوى الشفافية والمساءلة بين شركات العالم العربي. وقد كانت مسابقة مبادرة بيرل بمثابة تعزيز لما تعلمناه في كلية دار الحكمة وهو التصرف بنزاهة وأمانة ومصداقية. 

إن المشاركة في هذه المسابقة لا سيما بالنسبة لفئة الطلاب التي أنتمي إليها أقل ما يقال عنها أنها كانت فكرة مرعبة. فقد كانت المصطلحات مثل الحوكمة المؤسسية والمساءلة والشفافية جديدة تماماً علينا ولم نكن نسمعها كثيراً في النقاشات الأكاديمية أو الحوارات داخل المحاضرات في المملكة العربية السعودية. إلا أننا شاركنا فيها كنوع من التحدي فقد كانت مثل دخول عالم جديد تماماً كما سعدنا كثيراً بالتعرف على كل هذه الأفكار الجديدة والتي أصبحنا خبراء بها الآن وبشكل مفاجئ. 

كان علينا بعد المشاركة اختيار الشركة التي ستكون موضوع دراسة الحالة وكان ذلك من أصعب مراحل هذه المسابقة. إلا أن وجود واحدة من أفضل المشرفات على الإطلاق إلى جانبنا ساعدنا كثيرا، فقد حظينا أنا وزميلاتي بوجود د. مريم فيكوسيلو كمرشدة لنا. ومن ضمن قائمة المؤسسات التي وضعناها، وجدنا أن مستشفى الدكتور سليمان فقيه لديها قصة ملهمة بشأن سعيها وراء تحقيق الشفافية. وعندها علمنا أننا وجدنا الكنز الذي نبحث عنه.

خلال دراستنا أذهلنا الجهد الكبير الذي تبذله مستشفى الدكتور سليمان فقيه من أجل ضمان وضع وتطبيق إجراءات حوكمة مؤسسية سليمة. فقد بدأ اهتمام المستشفى الشغوف بالمسؤولية الاجتماعية المؤسسية في عام 2008 عندما أسست فريق المسؤولية الاجتماعية وقامت بإصدار تقريرها حول المسؤولية الاجتماعية GRI G3 والذي كان الأول من نوعه في الشرق الأوسط في ذلك الحين. ومن حينها تقدمت مستشفى الدكتور سليمان فقيه بخطى ثابتة وسريعة وتمكنت من أن تثبت نفسها في النهاية كواحدة من منابر الشفافية والمساءلة المؤسسية من خلال كونها أول مستشفى على مستوى العالم (باستثناء أسبانيا) تقوم بإصدار تقرير(GRI A+) حول المسؤولية الاجتماعية يتم تأكيده خارجياً في 2011. أي أنها كانت نموذج لإعداد تقارير المسؤولية الاجتماعية والشفافية في المملكة وقد سعدنا بأننا اخترناها كموضوع لبحثنا. 

كان فوزنا بالمسابقة شيء رائع وغير متوقع، لك أن تتخيل طلاب في العشرين من عمرهم وفي العام الأخير من الدراسة حيث المعاناة من نقص النوم نتيجة للقلق مع الإصرار الشديد على الانتهاء بنجاح من الأربعة أشهر الأكثر توتراً في حياتهم، أضف إلى ذلك المشاركة في مسابقة على مستوى الدولة تضم مشاركين آخرين يبلغ عددهم 500 مشترك وبتصميم شديد على الفوز، وعلي الاعتراف أنه كان من الصعب تصديق أننا سنحقق الفوز لذلك كان للنجاح طعم آخر وشعرنا بسعادة بالغة.

لا شك أنه من خلال انغماسنا في عالم الحوكمة المؤسسية تعلمنا الكثير عن كيفية تطبيق النزاهة والأخلاقيات والمسؤولية الاجتماعية والحوكمة والشفافية بشكل عملي في الحياة الواقعية. وفيما يلي بعض رؤوس الأقلام حول ما استفدناه من كتابة دراسة الحالة: 

 الشفافية ضرورة وليست خيار، قال أحد المشاهير “الحقيقة ليست كالجراء التي تجري في مجموعات بحيث يمكنك اختيار ما تفضله منها” وأنا أرى أن هذا المفهوم مناسب تماماً للغرض من الشفافية والمساءلة. ليس ثمة مشكلة في ارتكاب الأخطاء ولكن يجب أن تعلم الشركات أن الصراحة بشأن هذه الأخطاء مع محاولة فهم “لماذا جرت الأمور على هذا النحو؟” تعد أساسية لإظهار المصداقية أمام أصحاب المصلحة فضلاً عن القدرة على الصمود في هذه البيئة التنفاسية.

الشفافية عملية وليست نتيجة.

تقارير الاستدامة: يحتاج إعداد هذه التقارير بشكل صحيح إلى الالتزام – حتى وإن كان المقصود منها اتخاذ خطوات صغيرة ولكن مستمرة. 

إن نشر الممارسات الجيدة يعود بالنفع على الأعمال. فمن خلال بحثنا وجدنا أن مشاركة المجتمع لا تقدر بثمن، فليست هناك طريقة لنشر ممارسة الحوكمة المؤسسية أفضل من توعية الشركات المحلية والمجتمع والجيل القادم من قادة الأعمال بأفضل الممارسات. 

“توتو، أشعر أننا لم نعد في كانساس”

(دورثي، من ساحر أوز 1939)

من أجل تحفيز الطلاب على الفوز بالمسابقة، وعدت مبادرة بيرل الفريق الفائز برحلة مثيرة لمدة ثلاثة أيام في الإمارات العربية المتحدة لحضور ورشة عمل ومنتدى رفيع المستوى، وقد صدقوا. 

فقد كانت جائزتنا الرائعة هي حلم كل من خريجي كليات الأعمال والذي يتمثل في حضور منتديات وورش عمل وزيارة شركات. وكما هو الحال مع كافة المغامرات كانت رحلتنا مرهقة ولكن ممتعة، مهيبة ولكن ملهمة. 

أول محطاتنا كانت في المنتدى السنوي الرابع للقادة الماليين المنعقد في أبوظبي. عندما أسترجع ذلك اليوم أتذكر كيف كنت جالسة في الصف الأمامي في المنتدى أكتب الملاحظات دون توقف وأحاول أن أبدو هادئة وأكبح رغبتي في الصياح عالياَ (يا للروعة !). 

دعوني أفسر السبب وراء شعوري البالغ بالإثارة. إن حضور هذا المنتدى كان بالنسبة لي بمثابة حضور إحدى حفلات توزيع جوائز الأوسكار دعوات حصرية وموقف مهيب وعندما تحظى بفرصة الحضور تشعر بأنه درب من الخيال. 

حضر في هذه الفعالية الهامة كافة نجوم العالم المالي (قادة أعمال عالميين، خبراء اقتصاديين، مستثمرين، صناع السياسات) والذين اجتمعوا معاً من أجل مناقشة الحلول البديلة للتغلب على التحديات التي تواجهها المنطقة. وقد ركز هذا المنتدى المنعقد تحت عنوان “الحركة التحولية في أسواق الشرق الأوسط: المنافسة، والتعاون، ودفع عجلة النمو الاقتصادي” على كيفية ضمان الاستدامة طويلة المدى لتعافي دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي من آثار الأزمة الاقتصادية العالمية. 

لقد كانت الجلسة ممتعة وحصلت منها على معلومات وفيرة، وكان من أفضل ما حدث أثناء المنتدى هو أنني تمكنت من مشاهدة كبار الخبراء الاقتصاديين على مستوى العالم بشكل فعلي أثناء تبادلهم للأفكار والآراء والنتائج المتعلقة باقتصادات العالم. وقد شاهدت براعتهم باندهاش وذهول عندما قدموا للحضور تفاصيل وتنبؤات خاصة بالأسواق المالية. وبوصفي خريجة جديدة شعرت بالانبهار بأهمية هذا الحدث ولا زلت لا أصدق أنني حصلت على هذه الفرصة للحضور والاستماع إلى آراء وأفكار هذه العقول العظيمة. وسوف أقص هذه التجربة على أحفادي يوم ما. 

أما المحطة التالية فكانت لدى وكالة تومسون رويترز، وقد بدأناها برحلة حصرية في المكتب حيث تشرفنا بلقاء العاملين في هذا الصرح الإعلامي الضخم. بعد ذلك حضرنا ورشة عمل رائعة حول الحوكمة والمخاطر والالتزام قدمتها مديرة خدمات الالتزام في وكالة رويترز، هالة أبو علوان، بالاشتراك مع عدد من المستشارين المتخصصين. 

وقد كانت جلسة تفاعلية رائعة ألقت الضوء على الدور الهام الذي تلعبه الحوكمة المؤسسية في ضمان رضا كافة أصحاب المصلحة مع الحفاظ على مصداقية العمل. كما تناولت هذه الجلسة التحديات التي تواجه الشركات العائلية فيما يتعلق بتطبيق الحوكمة المؤسسية. وقد كان هذا الموضوع على درجة من الأهمية لا سيما أن الشركات العائلية تنتج قرابة 80% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي من غير القطاع النفطي في منطقة الخليج. وقد لاحظنا هنا أن أكبر المعوقات لم تتمثل في تغيير القواعد والقوانين بينما في تغيير عقلية الأشخاص، الأمر الذي يعد من أصعب التحديات على الإطلاق. وقد اختتمت ورشة العمل بالتأكيد على كيفية مكافحة غسيل الأموال وإيجاد الحلول اللازمة لوضع برنامج فعال للحوكمة المؤسسية. وفي المجمل، كانت ورشة العمل حول الحوكمة والمخاطر والالتزام تثقيفية وغنية بالمعلومات. 

من المحطات الأخرى الجديرة بالذكر خلال برنامجنا هي شركة أرامكس. فإلى جانب تمكننا من معرفة المزيد حول عملهم الرائع فيما يتعلق بالمسؤولية الاجتماعية، تأثرنا كثيرا عندما تعرفنا على المبادرات والحملات التي تقوم بها الشركة من أجل تقديم الدعم للمهمشين في المجتمع. وقد تأثرت أنا بصفة شخصية من إخلاصهم وتفانيهم فيما يتعلق بمساعدة المحتاجين. فعلى عكس الكثير من الشركات الأخرى التي تسعى إلى التفاخر بأعمالها الخيرية، نجد أن شركة أرامكس تتمتع بدرجة كبيرة من التحفظ والتكتم فيما يتعلق بأعمالها الخيرية المقدمة للمجتمع.

إلى جانب زيارة الشركات، تمكن فريق مبادرة بيرل من تنظيم رحلة مفاجئة لنا إلى كلية أبوظبي للطالبات ضمن برنامجنا المشغول. وخلال هذه الزيارة استقبلتنا اثنتان من الطالبات وأحد أعضاء هيئة التدريس وصحبونا في رحلة جميلة داخل منشآت كليتهم. 

لننحي العمل جانباً، فأنتم حتما تتساءلون عن جانب المرح والتسلية خلال الرحلة التي دامت ثلاثة أيام، فعلى الرغم من برنامجنا المزدحم تمكنا من القيام بما يلي:

جولة في مول دبي الضخم بشكل لا يصدق.

أمضينا المساء في سوق البحر مع الاستمتاع بعرض النافورة المذهل. 

زيارة برج خليفة (كان المنظر على ارتفاع 124 طابق مثير وأخاذ، فقد رأينا الأشياء صغيرة جداً من حولنا على هذا الارتفاع الشاهق الذي جعلني أشعر كأنني الممثلة الأمريكية ساندرا بولوك في فيلم “غرافيتي”. 

مشاهدة روعة التصميم والجمال الأخاذ لمسجد الشيخ زايد الكبير في أبوظبي.

تناول المثلجات المنعشة في كولدستون في فندق أتلانتس.

التقاط الصور على شاطئ البحر في جزيرة النخلة (جميرا) عند الغروب.

مشاهدة فيلم سينمائي في مول الإمارات بعد يوم طويل مع تناول ناشتوز مع صلصة غواكامولي على العشاء. 

ها قد قصصت عليكم كافة الأحداث، فقد كانت مغامرة رائعة.

“لا تشك أبدا في مقدرة مجموعة صغيرة من المواطنين الملتزمين والمخلصين على تغيير العالم، فإنهم حقا وحدهم القادرين على فعل ذلك.”

مارغريت ميد

يظهر الأبطال الخارقون بكافة الأشكال وليس من الضروري أن يحملوا علامة “S” على صدورهم. فبدون أن تكون لديهم سترة حمراء أو حذاء خاص، سوف تتعرف إليهم بمجرد أن تلتقي بهم. فمن خلال هذه الرحلة المذهلة، تمكنت من التعرف على الحوكمة المؤسسية ومعرفة حقيقة أنها تتجاوز كونها مجموعة من القواعد والممارسات الجيدة. إنها مساعي جديرة بالاهتمام والتقدير تتناول قضية هامة في مختلف أنحاء العالم العربي فهي عمل يستحق الثناء ويدعو للفخر. 

يتكون فريق عمل مبادرة بيرل من مجموعة مذهلة من الأفراد الذين يسعون إلى إحداث تأثير في العالم، فهم القوة الدافعة الباعثة على التغيير. وأود أن أتوجه إليهم بخالص الشكر والتقدير خاصة إميلدا دانلوب، ونيكي يولدن، وسيلين شرايبر، وميل وايت، وجيانا الخطيب على جعل تجربتنا مع مبادرة بيرل تجربة لا تنسى. وحقا تشرفت بالتعرف إليكم فأنتن سيداتي الأبطال الخارقين وأتمنى أن أحذو حذوكم يوما ما.

كما أود أن أتوجه بالشكر لكلية دار الحكمة ولمستشفى الدكتور سليمان فقيه على دعمهم المتواصل لنا. وأخيراً وليس آخراً، أود أن أتوجه بالشكر لمشرفتنا الرائعة د.مريم فيكوشيلو التي لم تفقد يوماً إيمانها بنا وتحلت بالصبر على مواصلة العمل معنا طوال هذه الرحلة. إن العالم في حاجة إلى المزيد من المعلمين أمثال د. مريم.   

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Ripples
Ripples
Author: Laraine Anne Valles

POCAHONTAS: “The ripples.”

JOHN SMITH: “What about them?”

GRANDMOTHER WILLOW: “So small at first, then look how they grow. But someone has to start them.”

(Disney’s Pocahontas, 1995)

Every so often, life throws us new experiences that inevitably and irrevocably change the way we view the world we live in. My participation in the Pearl Initiative Student Case Study Competition was definitely one of those profound eye-opening experiences and I feel incredibly fortunate to have been a part of it.

Eight months, three weeks, six days, nineteen hours and seven minutes ago. . .if anyone had asked me to define the term ‘corporate governance’, I probably would have shrugged and said something along the lines of “Oh, isn’t that what happens after a coup d’état?”.

Not to worry though. Thanks to the Pearl Initiative, I am now able to produce a far more eloquent and cognizant response these days.

I was in the second semester of my senior year at college when our Faculty Champion, Dr. Maryam Ficociello, told us about the case-study opportunity. I immediately went online to find out what it was all about and what I read really inspired me to join the competition, as the Pearl Initiative aspiration is to improve transparency and accountability among businesses in the Arab world. The Pearl Initiative experience reinforced what we learned from Dar Al-Hekma College – to always act with integrity, honour and truthfulness.

Participating in this competition was, especially for us as college students, quite daunting to say the least. The concept of corporate governance and accountability and transparency were all very new to us and was not something frequently encountered in academic conversations and class discussions in Saudi Arabia. Nonetheless, we took it as a challenge. It was like being introduced to a whole new world – it felt refreshing to discover all these ideas that the three of us were now suddenly privy to.

Deciding on a target company for our case-study was possibly one of the toughest parts of the contest. However, having one of the best mentors that anyone could ever ask for on your side really helps, and my team-mates and I were lucky to have Dr. Maryam Ficociello guiding us as Faculty Champion. Out of all the businesses on our list, we found that Dr. Soliman Fakeeh Hospital (DSFH) had one inspiring story to tell about their quest for transparency. Right then, like sweet serendipity, we knew we had found the jackpot. It was a story that just had to be shared and announced to the world!

During our study, we were astounded by the tremendous effort we discovered that DSFH actually puts into ensuring that sound corporate governance procedures are in place. The hospital’s love affair with Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) began as early as 2008 by forming a CSR team and publishing its first level C GRI G3 CSR hospital report in 2008 that was considered the first of its kind in the Middle East at that time. From that point on, DSFH moved swift and determined with tight-lipped perseverance. Ultimately, DSFH proved itself to be the apotheosis of organizational transparency and accountability by being the first hospital worldwide (with the exception of Spain) to reach an externally assured CSR report at the GRI A+ level in 2011. Simply put, DSFH was the paragon of Corporate Social Responsibility reporting and transparency in the Kingdom and we were elated to have found them as our target company.

Our victory was sweet and unexpected. When you are a neurotic sleep-deprived twenty-year-old college senior hell-bent on surviving the most stressful 4 months of your life and to top it off, you’ve participated in a nation-wide competition with over 500 other competitors dead-set on winning, let me just say that it becomes pretty hard to believe that the odds would ever be in your favour. In this case, they were and BOY were we thrilled!

Needless to say, whilst being immersed in the world of corporate governance, we learnt a whole lot about the application of integrity, ethics, social responsibility, governance and transparency within a real life context. A quick précis of our takeaways from writing the case-study are as follows:

  • Transparency is a necessity, not a choice. Someone really famous once said that “the truth ain’t like puppies, a bunch of them running around, you pick your favourite”. I believe this concept fits really well with the purpose of transparency and accountability. It’s okay to make mistakes. Businesses should understand that being open about these mistakes whilst reasoning “why things happened the way they happened” are key to showing credibility among stakeholders and surviving in the competing environment.
  • Transparency is a process, not an outcome.
  • Sustainability reporting: doing it right takes commitment – even if it means small but continuous steps.
  • It pays to spread the good! During our research, we learned that community engagement is invaluable. What better way to propagate the practice of corporate governance than through educating local businesses, suppliers, the community and us, the next generation of business leaders, about best practices.

“Toto, I have a feeling we’re not in Kansas anymore.”
(Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz, 1939)

As an incentive to win the case-study competition, the Pearl Initiative promised the winning team an exciting three-day trip to the United Arab Emirates to attend high-profile forums and workshops. They did not disappoint.

Our coveted prize trip was every business graduate’s dream – forums, workshops and company-visits galore! Like all great adventures in life, our three-day trip was exhilarating and exhausting, intimidating yet inspiring.

Our first stop was the 4th Annual Standard & Poor’s Financial Leaders Forum held in Abu Dhabi. Looking back on this day, I remember sitting front-row at the forum, fervently taking down notes, trying to look calm, all the while suppressing the manic urge to shriek “OMG! OMG! OMG!”

For those of you who do not fully comprehend my over-excitement, allow me to elucidate. Attending the S&P Financial Leaders Forum is basically like attending the Oscars: invite-only, exclusive, intimidating and when you get the chance to attend, it feels incredibly surreal.

On this momentous occasion, the rockstars of the financial world (global business leaders, economists, investors, business and policy makers) all come together in convergence to discuss alternative solutions to prevalent challenges in the region. Titled “Transforming Middle East Markets: Competing, collaborating and driving economic growth”, the focus of this particular forum was on how to guarantee the long-term sustainability of recovery across the GCC after its strong emergence in the aftermath of the global financial crisis.

The session was engaging and very informative. I would say that one of the best parts of the forum was getting to watch the chief global economists (the economic-clairvoyants and financial-soothsayers) in action, sharing their insights and findings on the world’s economies. I could only stare in dumbfounded amazement as they, with calculated prowess, provided the audience with insightful details and predictions about the financial market. As a fresh grad, I was overwhelmed by the magnitude of the event and I still can’t believe I was given the chance to actually attend and listen to the views and opinions of such great minds. This experience is definitely something to tell the grandkids someday.

Next stop on our agenda was Thomson Reuters! We kicked-off with an exclusive office-tour. Meeting the amazing people behind the multinational media & information power-house was an absolute treat. This was followed by the piece de resistance – an awesome workshop on Governance, Risk & Compliance (GRC) conducted by Thomson Reuter’s very own Compliance Services Director, Hala Abou Alwan, along with several other dedicated consultants.

It was a riveting interactive session that underlined the crucial role corporate governance plays as a catalyst in keeping all stakeholders satisfied whilst maintaining the business’ credibility. It also touched upon the challenges of corporate governance in family-owned businesses. This was a particularly fascinating topic especially since family businesses are known to generate a mind-boggling 80% of GDP outside the oil sector in the Gulf region. Here it was noted that the biggest barrier was, in fact, not changing rules and regulations, rather it was “changing people’s mentality” that was the toughest challenge of all. The workshop closed with an emphasis on how to combat anti-money-laundering and the keys to building a robust corporate governance program. Altogether, our afternoon at the GRC workshop was upbeat, instructive and very enlightening!

Another note-worthy company on our agenda was Aramex. Besides getting to know about their admirable work in the field of Corporate Social Responsibility, it was utterly heart-warming and inspiring to hear about the various initiatives and campaigns that the company started. All to provide support to marginalized members of the community. I was especially impressed with their quiet dedication to lending a helping hand to people in need. Unlike most other businesses we see that practically thrive on bragging about their brand’s philanthropic pursuits, Aramex lies on the opposite end of the spectrum – they are a discreet yet effective squad of do-gooders in society.

In addition to the company visits, the Pearl Initiative team managed to squeeze in a surprise tour of the Abu Dhabi Women’s College in our oh-so-busy schedule. We were graciously received by a pair of student representatives and a faculty member who enthusiastically gave us a lovely tour of their college facilities.

Business aside, I bet you’re probably wondering what we did for ‘fun’ during those three days. Hard to believe, but despite our busy schedule, we managed to do the following:

  • Power-walk around the inconceivably ginormous Dubai Mall.
  • Spend the evening being mesmerized by the spellbinding fountain show by the Souk Al Bahar.
  • Visit the Burj Khalifa (The view from the 124th floor was breathtaking in all its glory! Washed over with a sudden sense of calm and with everything looking so miniscule from high above, I felt like Sandra Bullock in ‘Gravity’.)
  • Savour the halcyon beauty and splendor at the magnificent Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque.
  • Grab gigantic scoops of Cold Stone Creamery ice-cream at the Atlantis Hotel. Diabetes, anyone?
  • Take pictures by the sea at Palm Jumeirah during the sunset.
  • Go to the movies at Mall Of The Emirates after a long day and have nachos & guacamole for dinner.
  • So there you have it! All in all, it was quite a superb adventure, and dare I say it, AWESOME.

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

― Margaret Mead

Superheroes come in all different shapes and forms and not necessarily with an ‘S’ on their chest. But sans bright-red capes and go-go boots, once you meet them, they’re hard to miss. Throughout this epic journey, I have come to appreciate that corporate governance is more than just a system of rules and good practices. It is a worthwhile endeavor and championing such an admirable cause across the Arab world is a truly commendable feat.

The Pearl Initiative team is comprised of amazing individuals, all striving to make a difference in the world. They are a remarkable driving-force and an impetus of change. I would like to say a huge thank you to Imelda Dunlop, Nikki Youlden, Celine Schreiber, Mel White and Jiana El-Khatib for making our Pearl Initiative experience a truly unforgettable one. It was an honour to meet you. You, ladies, are the real superheroes! I only hope that I can one day get the chance to follow in your footsteps.

Many thanks to Dar Al-Hekma College and Dr. Soliman Fakeeh Hospital for supporting us all the way. Last but not least, I want to thank our incredible mentor, Dr. Maryam Ficociello, who never stopped believing in us and so patiently stuck with us throughout this whole journey. The world needs more educators like you, Dr. M!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.