مؤشر الشفافية الدولية لعام 2013
مؤشر الشفافية الدولية لعام 2013
مؤلف: إميلدا دنلوب

بغض النظر عن طبيعة تعاملك مع أية شركة، لا شك أن معرفتك بأنك تتعامل مع شركة لا تتهاون على الإطلاق مع الرشوة والفساد سوف يمنحك ثقة لا تقدر بثمن في هذه الشركة، مما يدفعك إلى اتخاذ قرار بالاستمرار في التعامل مع هذه الشركة دون غيرها. 

وتصدر منظمة الشفافية الدولية في ديسمبر من كل عام مؤشر مفاهيم الفساد والذي يصنف الدول حسب مستويات الفساد المعتقدة في كل دولة. ويتم قياس أداء كل دولة استناداً إلى مؤشر تبلغ إجمالي درجاته 100 درجة، ولا تحصل أي دولة على الدرجة الإجمالية. 

وقد جاءت دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة ودولة قطر في مقدمة دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في مؤشر منظمة الشفافية الدولية لعام 2013، حيث احتلت الإمارات المركز السادس والعشرين واحتلت قطر المركز الثامن والعشرين. وجاءت جميع دول مجلس التعاون بين أول 70 دولة من بين 177 دولة على مستوى العالم. 

ووفقاً لمنظمة الشفافية الدولية، تعتبر الدولة التي تحصل في التصنيف على أقل من 50 من 100 أنها تعاني من مشكلة كبيرة مع الفساد. وأظهر مؤشر عام 2013 أن 84% من دول الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا تندرج تحت هذه الفئة. 

وهذه الإحصائيات مثيرة للقلق، بل أنها قد تشير إلى أن أنشطة التجارة في المنطقة تخسر مليارات الدولارات المحتملة. فعندما يبحث المستثمرون الدوليون عن الاستثمارات المحتملة، تكون سمعة الدولة عاملاً جوهرياً في اتخاذ قرار الاستثمار في المنطقة. وتعزز المؤشرات الإيجابية من الثقة والتي من شأنها أن تدفع بدورها عجلة الاستثمار. وعلى النقيض، نرى أن المؤشرات السلبية تؤدي إلى تآكل الثقة في الاقتصاد وتطرد الاستثمارات إلى مناطق جغرافية أو قطاعات أخرى.

إن قرار الاستثمار يلزم أن يراعي ارتفاع درجة المخاطر عندما يكون الاستثمار في دولة يُعتقد في أنها تعاني من مشكلات مع الفساد، ويستخدم المستثمرون مؤشر مفاهيم الفساد الصادر عن منظمة الشفافية الدولية كمؤشر للمخاطر المحتملة ومستويات العناية الواجبة اللازم مراعاتها.

وتعتبر قضايا الفساد والاحتيال الكبرى خير دليل على قيمة أنظمة العناية الواجبة والامتثال الصارمة التي يطبقها المستثمرون والشركات. وبعيداً عن الغرامات والأضرار التي تخلفها حوادث عدم الالتزام غير المتوقعة، يمكن أن تكون خسائر السمعة والأعمال فادحة ومدمرة. ومن هنا، فإن تطبيق وتنفيذ الأنظمة المناسبة عبر كافة مستويات الشركة وسلسلة التوريد يمكن أن يحمي الشركة من احتمال التعرض لمثل هذه المشكلات. 

ورغم أن المهمة قد تبدو صعبة وشاقة، إلا أن ترسيخ الممارسات التي تعكس أفضل الممارسات سوف يحد من خطر المشكلات ويزيد من احتمالات تحقيق نتائج إيجابية على الجانبين على المدى الطويل. ومما لا شك فيه أن للتشريعات واللوائح عامل مهم غير أنها تحدد الحد الأدنى من المتطلبات. ونحن في مبادرة بيرل نؤمن أن الممارسات الجيدة تؤدي إلى ميزة تنافسية مستدامة، مما يعني أننا نعمل من أجل تدعيم رسالة مفادها أن المبادرة إلى تطبيق معايير أعلى من النزاهة أمر منطقي من منظور الأعمال والتجارة. وتستضيف مبادرة بيرل عدداً من الفعاليات والمنتديات والمناقشات وورش العمل التي تتيح لقادة الأعمال والتجارة في المنطقة فرصة الالتقاء معاً وتبادل المعارف وأفضل الخبرات والتجارب الدولية والإقليمية بهدف الارتقاء بمعايير الحوكمة المؤسسية والنزاهة في جميع دول الشرق الأوسط. 

وعلى مستوى المنطقة، تدرك الشركات في مختلف دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي مكاسب ترسيخ سلوكيات وقواعد العمل الأخلاقية على مستوى القطاع الخاص من أجل القضاء على الرشوة والفساد. إن التغيير عادةً ما يكون متعباً، إلا أنه في هذه الحالة ضرورة ملحة من أجل تمهيد الطريق أمام مستقبل أفضل. ومن المعلوم أن تدريس أهمية الحوكمة المؤسسية الجيدة للطلاب يعني أن الطلاب سوف يصطحبون هذه المفاهيم معهم إلى سوق العمل ويتوقعون أن تلتزم بها فرق العمل التي سوف يكونون مسؤولين عنها في يوم من الأيام. 

وبغض النظر عن القطاع الذي تعمل به الشركة، لا توجد أية استثناءات لقبول السلوكيات التي تتساهل مع الرشوة أو الفساد. ولقد أرست العديد من الشركات الإقليمية أساساً من القيم القوية، وتعمل الآن على ترجمة هذه القيم إلى عمليات محكمة تحمي سمعتها والحد من المخاطر.   

تصنيفات دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي في مؤشر مفاهيم الفساد الصادر عن منظمة الشفافية (من بين 177 دولة)

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

The Transparency International 2013 Index
The Transparency International 2013 Index
Author: Imelda Dunlop

No matter how you interact with a business, knowledge that whomever you are dealing with has a zero tolerance approach to bribery and corruption provides valuable confidence in that entity and often, the decision to continue to work with them over others.

Every year in December, Transparency International releases its Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI), a ranking of countries in order of their perceived levels of corruption. Each country is measured on an index out of a total score of 100 and no country receives a perfect score.

Within the Transparency International 2013 Index, the UAE and Qatar were ranked highest within the GCC – at 26th and 28th place respectively. All GCC countries appear in the top 70 countries on the list, out of 177 around the world.

According to Transparency International, a country scoring less than 50 out of 100 is perceived to have a serious corruption problem, and the 2013 survey found that 84% of countries in the MENA region fall into this grouping.

This statistic is troubling, as it could even suggest that we are losing out on the potential of billions of dollars of trade in our region. When international investors look abroad for likely investments, a country’s reputation will be a major factor in whether they decide to put their investment into the region. Positive perceptions drive confidence, which in turn can drive investment. On the other hand, negative perceptions erode confidence and divert investment into other territories or sectors.

The decision to invest will need to account for a high level of risk if it is in a country perceived to have corruption issues, and the Transparency International CPI is used by investors as an indicator of potential risk and levels of due diligence required.

High-profile corruption and fraud cases are testament to the value of rigorous due diligence and compliance systems by companies and investors. Over and above fines and the damage done by unforeseen rogue incidents; the loss to reputation and business can be devastating. Implementing and enforcing the right systems throughout a company and value chain can protect the business against the likelihood of such an issue arising.

Although it may seem like a tall order, instilling practises that mirror best practise will reduce the risk of a problem and increase the chances of a positive outcome on both sides in the longer term. Of course regulation and legislation are important – but they define the minimum base requirement. At the Pearl Initiative, our perspective that best practices lead to sustainable competitive advantage means that we work to reinforce the message that proactively implementing higher standards of integrity makes business sense. We host a number of events, forums, discussions and workshops that allow business leaders of this region to come together to share regional and international knowledge, best practice and experience with a view to raising the bar in terms of corporate governance and integrity, across the Middle East.

As a region, companies across the GCC are realising the benefits of instilling ethical behaviour and working at a private sector-wide level to stamp out bribery and corruption. Change can often be painful but in this case, it is entirely necessary to pave the way for a better future. Also, by teaching students the importance of good corporate governance, they will take this level of belief with them and expect it from the teams they will eventually command.

No matter what sector an organisation operates in, there is no exception for accepting behaviour that condones bribery or corruption. Many regional firms have been built on the basis of strong values and now is the time to translate these values into rigorous processes that protect reputation and minimise risk.

GCC Country Rankings in the Transparency International Corruption Perceptions Index 2013: (out of 177 countries)

26UAE
28Qatar
57Bahrain
61Oman
63Saudi Arabia
69Kuwait

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.