إشراك المرأة في مجالس الإدارة
إشراك المرأة في مجالس الإدارة
مؤلف: إيميلدا دنلوب

يلقى موضوع تعظيم مشاركة المرأة في مجالس الإدارة اهتماماً كبيراً في جميع أنحاء العالم، وذلك من خلال ارتباطه بسبل زيادة التنوع في هذه المجالس، وتوسيع النهج الاستراتيجي في عملية صنع القرار وتعزيز فعالية المجالس.

ويعتبر قرار مجلس الوزراء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الأسبوع الماضي، والذي أعلنه صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم، نائب رئيس الدولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي، بفرض إشراك المرأة في مجالس الإدارة، خطوة تضع دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في طليعة الدول التي تهتم بهذه القضية. كما يدل على التزام قوي وكبير بإشراك المزيد من النساء في المناصب القيادية في البلاد.

ووفقاً لمقال نشر الأسبوع الماضي في صحيفة ذا ناشونال، فإنه وعلى مستوى دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي، لا تحتل النساء سوى 1.5٪ من مجموع مقاعد مجالس الإدارة في جميع أنحاء المنطقة. وفي مبادرة بيرل، أنجزنا مؤخراً برنامجاً لإجراء مقابلات مع الشركات العائلية في مختلف أنحاء دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي حول ممارسات الحوكمة فيها (سيتم نشر التقرير الشهر المقبل) ووجدنا أن 32٪ من الشركات العائلية في المنطقة لديها أمرأة واحدة على الأقل في مجلس الإدارة، وهو أمر مشجع للغاية.

وأشار بحث أجرته منظمة كاتاليست، وهي منظمة عالمية تركز على النساء في الشركات، في العام 2007 على أول 500 شركة على قائمة مجلة فورتشن، إلى وجود علاقة قوية بين تنوع مجالس الإدارة من حيث تركيبها الجندري وأداء الشركة المالي. وبالنسبة للعائد على رأس المال المستثمر، تفوقت الشركات التي لديها أعلى نسبة من الإناث في مجالس الإدارة على تلك التي ليس لديها نسبة كبيرة من النساء بمعدل 66٪.

وفي المنتدى العربي الدولي للمرأة الذي عقد الأسبوع الماضي في دبي، كان هناك الكثير من الأدلة المقدمة من داخل منطقتنا على الفوائد المكتسبة نتيجة للتنوع الجندري في مجالس الإدارة. وذكر أن المرأة تحسن ديناميكية عمل مجالس الإدارة في مجالات مثل رفع مستوى الذكاء العاطفي خلال المناقشات وعمليات صنع القرار، وزيادة مستويات التحضير لاجتماعات المجالس، والتركيز الأكبر على تقديم مساهمة ذات قيمة حقيقية لشركة (وحتى للبلاد).

وتعتبر المنظمات العاملة في المنطقة والتي تدير وتحتفظ بنجاح بكوادرها النسائية، وتعزز امكانية ترقي المرأة لتصل إلى صفوف الإدارة العليا، منظمات تتمتع بقائمة طويلة من النساء المرشحات لاحتلال مواقع في المجالس التنفيذية. وتقوم المنظمات بذلك من خلال تقديم الدعم للنساء في نقاط محورية في حياتهن المهنية، وخلق برامج التوجيه المنظم، وتطوير فرص التواصل للنساء المتميزات.

وتفقد الشركات في العادة مساهمة النساء المتميزات عندما يصلن إلى مستويات الإدارة المتوسطة، وذلك عندما يضطررن إلى الاعتناء بأطفالهن، أو عندما يشعرن بعدم قدرتهن على الجمع بين التزامات العمل والالتزامات العائلية. وتشير العديد من النساء إلى أنهن قادرات على تجاوز هذه النقطة الحرجة في حياتهن المهنية إذا كان لديهن بيئة عمل تمكنهن وتزودهن بالثقة، وتراعي مسألة العمل المرن والتوازن بين العمل والحياة.

وسيؤدي تواجد المزيد من الإناث في مجالس الإدارة إلى ظهور المرأة القدوة بالنسبة لغيرها من النساء الشابات، مما يوفر للمرأة الطموحة والموهبة، جنباً إلى جنب مع الرسالة الواضحة لقيادة دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة الأسبوع الماضي، الدليل الذي يحتاجون إليه لإثبات أن أحلامهن قابلة للتحقيق.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Bringing Women on Board
Bringing Women on Board
Author: Imelda Dunlop

Increasing the presence of women on Boards has become a hot topic around the world, linked to finding ways to increase board diversity, broaden approaches to strategic decision-making and enhance Board effectiveness.

The UAE Cabinet decision announced last week by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, to enforce the inclusion of women on Boards of Directors, is a bold move and one that puts the UAE firmly at the forefront of this debate. More than anything, it demonstrates a strong and significant commitment to develop more women into positions of leadership in the country.

According to an article last week in the National newspaper, at a GCC level, only 1.5% of all Board seats across the region are held by women. At the Pearl Initiative, we have recently completed a programme of interviewing family firms across the GCC on their Governance Practices (the report will be published next month) and we found that 32% of family firms in the region have at least one female family member on the main Board of Directors, which is very encouraging.

A 2007 piece of research on Fortune 500 companies by CATALYST, a global organization focused on women in business, found a strong correlation between Board gender diversity and company financial performance. From the perspective of return on invested capital, companies with the highest proportion of female Board Directors outperformed those with the least by 66%.

At least week’s conference in Dubai held by the Arab International Women’s Forum (AIWF), there was much evidence presented from within our region on the benefits gained through increased Board diversity. It was said that women often improve the overall dynamic of a Board of Directors in areas such as bringing increased emotional intelligence to debates and decision making; greater levels of preparation for Board meetings; and a deeper emphasis on making a truly valuable contribution to the organization (and even the country).

Organisations in the region that manage to successfully retain and promote women through the senior management ranks have a strong pipeline of potential Executive Board candidates. They do this by providing strong collaborative support for women at pivotal points in their career, creating structured mentoring programmes, and developing networking opportunities for women with potential.

Companies can often lose high-performing women at mid-management levels, at the point when they have children, if they feel that they cannot combine work commitments with family commitments. Many women say that they are able to get through this critical point in their career if they have a trusting and empowered working environment that is conducive to flexible working and work/life balance.

An increased female presence in the Boardroom would offer many more role models for younger women, and this, along with last week’s clear message from the leadership of the UAE, gives talented and ambitious women the evidence they need that their aspirations are indeed possible!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.