تحسين فاعلية العطاء
تحسين فاعلية العطاء
مؤلف: لمياء عدي

في ظل إعلان عام 2017 عاماً للخير، أطلقت دبي قانون تنظيم الوقف والهبة من أجل تمكين الأفراد والمؤسسات التجارية للقيام بالأعمال الخيرية بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. ينص القانون على إمكانية تقدم الشركات الخاصة بطلب للحصول على “علامة الوقف” من مركز محمد بن راشد العالمي لاستشارات الوقف والهبة لتمكينها من تنفيذ برامجها الإنسانية والثقافية والعلمية والإنمائية.

تمثل هذه الخطوة تفسيراً خلاقاً للفهم التقليدي لقضية الهبات والأوقاف في المنطقة حيث يُسمح للشركات في ظل القانون الجديد بوقف وهبة الخدمات والمنتجات بدلاً من الأصول. كما يُمكن لقانون تنظيم الوقف والهبة أن يغير من طريقة نظر الناس إلى العطاء في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وربما يتحول بالاتجاه من التبرعات النقدية العفوية إلى بذل هبات منتظمة على نحو أكبر. فلقد أشار ما يزيد عن نصف المشاركين في استبيان العطاء العربي لعام 2016، عن اعتمادهم على التبرعات العفوية بدلًا من التبرعات المنتظمة. ويُمكن لهذا القانون الجديد أن يحول الدفة نحو التبرعات الأكثر انتظاما واستراتيجية.

دور الحوكمة

يُسلط برنامج “الحوكمة في قطاع العطاء الإجتماعي و المؤسسات غير الربحية”، وهو أحدث برنامج أطلقته مبادرة بيرل في سبتمبر 2017، الضوء على  فوائد التحول نحو منهج مؤسسي للعطاء إلى جانب مزايا تطبيق ممارسات الحوكمة في هذا القطاع. مع إصدار قانون الوقف والهبة وتزايد عدد الأطراف المعنية المشاركة، أصبح لزاماً على جميع الأطراف الفاعلة أن تتبني مبادئ الشفافية والمساءلة فيما تنفذه من أنشطة خيرية.

في إطار سعيه لتعزيز فاعلية العطاء من منظور الجهات المانحة و الجهات التنفيذية، يدرس البرنامج الأساليب الحالية التي ينتهجها القطاع ويعمل على تبادل أفضل ممارسات الحوكمة. قد استضافت مبادرة بيرل حتى وقتنا هذا جلسات نقاش جماعية في دبي والكويت والرياض من أجل جمع معلومات حول المجالات التي في حاجة إلى تحسين في هذا القطاع وبفضل تنوع خلفياتهم وتخصصاتهم، تمكن المشاركون من عرض وتبادل وجهات النظر الخاصة بالجهات المانحة المؤسسية، ممثلة في المؤسسات والشركات العائلية، ووجهات نظر الجهات التنفيذية التي تمثلها المؤسسات والمنظمات غير الربحية.

التقدم بالشفافية ورفع التقارير

أبرزت جلسات النقاش الثلاثة الحاجة إلى تحسين جوانب رفع التقارير والشفافية وقيمتها في تحسين فاعلية العطاء. يعد تنظيم عملية رفع التقارير أمراً ضرورياً في تقييم أثر البرامج والأنشطة التي تقودها مؤسسات العطاء الإجتماعي و المؤسسات غير الربحية. من ناحية أخرى، سوف تتناول حلقة نقاش وورشة العمل المقرر عقدها في عام 2018 هذه المسائل وستقدم معلومات عملية حول كيفية تحسين رفع التقارير بما يضمن قدرة الجهات المانحة على اتخاذ قرارات مستنيرة ويُمكن المؤسسات من رصد نتائج وتأثيرات أنشطتها.

علاوة على ما سبق، أطلقت مبادرة بيرل استبياناً على شبكة الإنترنت للوقوف على الأوضاع والاتجاهات الحالية داخل قطاع العطاء الإجتماعي وغير الربحي في منطقة الخليج. وسيتم مشاركة نتائج الاستبيان ضمن تقرير إقليمي يسلط الضوء على ممارسات الحوكمة الحالية، والفرص والتحديات التي ينطوي عليها تبني أفضل الممارسات والتأثير المحتمل لهذه الممارسات على الدور الهام للمؤسسات والمنظمات العاملة في هذا القطاع.

الدعوة إلى التغيير

يسعى البرنامج إلى إنشاء منصة تأخذ بزمام المبادرة في مناقشة إطار الحوكمة للمؤسسات والمنظمات العاملة في منطقة الخليج. يعمل البرنامج أيضاً على جمع قادة الفكر في قطاع العطاء الإجتماعي والعطاء المؤسسي وغير الربحي لتقييم الاتجاهات الحالية في المنطقة وتسليط الضوء على أفضل ممارسات الحوكمة في هذا القطاع.

انضم إلينا في اجتماع المائدة المستديرة الذي ننظمه يوم 25 فبراير 2018 تحت عنوان “التميز في الأعمال الخيرية” في دبي واستمع إلى مجموعة من المتحدثين البارزين واستكشف أفكاراً ورؤى قيمة حول أهمية الأعمال الخيرية المؤسسية وتأثير ممارسات الحوكمة الرشيدة على تعزيز فعالية الخير والعطاء. سجل هنا.

لمعرفة المزيد من المعلومات حول البرنامج والأنشطة القادمة، يرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني للبرنامج من هنا.

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Enhancing the Effectiveness of Giving
Enhancing the Effectiveness of Giving
Author: Lamia Adi

In line with the Year of Giving in 2017, Dubai implemented the Endowment Law to enable the charitable acts of individuals and businesses in the UAE. The law stipulates that private companies can now apply for the Endowment Sign from the Mohammed Bin Rashid Global Centre for Endowment Consultancy, which will enable them to carry out their humanitarian, cultural, scientific and developmental agendas.

This is a creative reinterpretation of the traditional understanding of endowments in the region. With the new law, companies are encouraged to endow services and products, as opposed to assets. Moreover, the Endowment Law has the capacity to change the way people view giving in the UAE and perhaps shift the trend from spontaneous cash donations, to more regular grant making. According to the Arab Giving Survey 2016, more than half of the respondents report that they engage in spontaneous as opposed to regular donations. The introduction of this new law could shift the scale to more regular and strategic donations.

The role of governance

Launched in September 2017, the Pearl Initiative’s latest programme, ‘Governance in the Philanthropic and Non-Profit Sector’, addresses the benefits of moving towards a more institutionalised approach to giving, as well as the benefits of adopting better governance practices within the sector. With the introduction of the Endowment Law and the increasing number of stakeholders involved, it is imperative for all players to be transparent and accountable in their philanthropic activities.

Aimed at enhancing the effectiveness of giving, both from the perspectives of donors and implementers, the programme is researching the current approaches adopted by the sector and share governance best practices. Thus far, the Pearl Initiative hosted focus group discussions in Dubai, Kuwait and Riyadh to gather information on areas of improvement for the sector. Due to the diverse backgrounds of the participants, they were able to share perspectives of both the institutionalised donors, as represented by corporations and family businesses, as well as the implementers that are represented by foundations and non-profit organisations.

The way forward: transparency and reporting

Highlighted in all three discussions is the need for, and value of, better reporting and transparency in the sector. Streamlining the reporting process is essential for the assessment of the impact of programmes and activities led by philanthropic and non-profit organisations. The roundtable and workshop scheduled in 2018 will address these issues and provide practical information on how reporting can be improved so donors can make informed decisions and organisations can track their impact.

In addition, the Pearl Initiative launched an online survey to understand the current state and trends within the philanthropic and non-profit sector in the Gulf Region. The results of the survey will be shared in a regional report to highlight the current governance practices, the opportunities and challenges in adopting best practices and the impact it may have on the important work of organisations in this sector.

Convening for change

The programme seeks to create a platform to proactively discuss governance frameworks for foundations and organisations operating in the Gulf Region. Moreover, it will bring together thought leaders in the philanthropic, corporate giving and non-profit sector to assess current trends in the region and highlight best governance practices in the sector.

Join us at our “Excellence in Philanthropy” round table on 25 February 2018 in Dubai with our distinguished speakers and gain valuable insight on the value of institutional philanthropy and the implications of good governance practices on enhancing the effectiveness of giving. Register here.

To learn more about the programme and upcoming activities, please visit our programme webpage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.