تقرير “إيبيك” لعام 2018
تقرير “إيبيك” لعام 2018
مؤلف: لمياء عدي

أطلقت مؤسسة “إيبيك “، وهي مؤسسة عالمية غير ربحية تعمل مع المنظمات والجهات المانحة والمتبرعين وتقدم حلولاً لتعزيز فعالية العطاء، تقرير “إيبيك” لعام 2018 في أوائل شهر مارس من هذا العام، ومنذ ذلك الحين انطلقت المؤسسة في رحلة حول العالم لمشاركة الرؤى المتعمقة والمعلومات وتعزيز المناقشات حول التوجهات العالمية في قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي. وقد حضرتُ الأسبوع الماضي فعالية إطلاق تقريرها في دبي، والتي عقدت في موقع استراتيجي في مسرعات دبي المستقبل. وأدار الفعالية نيكولا كروستا، النائب التنفيذي للرئيس لدى مؤسسة “إيبيك”.

ما هي بعض التوجهات العالمية في قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي؟
استهل نيكولا الحوار بالخاصية الأولى التي تميز العطاء الاجتماعي في جميع أنحاء العالم وهي: عدم توفر البيانات الكافية. تحدث نيكولا عن الموضوع قائلا، “يضع الجميع آراء ووجهات نظر بشأن قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي ولكن لا تتوفر البيانات التي تدعم تلك الآراء”.

طبقاً لما جاء في تقير مبادرة بيرل الصادر بعنوان “حالة الحوكمة في قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي – منطقة الخليج”، فإن غياب البيانات والأبحاث حول بيئة العطاء الاجتماعي والعمل غير الربحي يعد من بين أهم القضايا التي تواجهها المنطقة. فإن للبيانات والإحصاءات القدرة على تعزيز الشفافية والمساءلة في بيئة العطاء الاجتماعي. ليس ذلك فحسب، بل تعمل أيضاً على تعزيز تضافر الجهود وعقد شراكات أقوى.

ومن هذا المنطلق، فإن الخطوة الأولى على طريق تعزيز فعالية العطاء هي جمع المعلومات والبيانات. وقد كشفت أبحاث مؤسسة “إيبيك” مع حوالي 3,500 مؤسسة غير ربحية عن مجموعة من الرؤى المتعمقة والمعلومات بشأن العناصر المطبقة بشكل جيد في القطاع، والمواطن التي تحتاج إلى تحسين، وما ينتظر هذا القطاع في المستقبل.

المواطن الجيدة والمواطن التي تحتاج إلى تحسين…
لا شك أن المؤسسات غير الربحية تلعب دوراً استراتيجياً في تنمية المجتمعات. وقد توصل الناشطون الاجتماعيون ورواد الأعمال الاجتماعية إلى أفكار مبتكرة من أجل مواجهة الطبيعة المعقدة التي تتسم بها المشاكل الاجتماعية اليوم. حيث تبين أن المؤسسات التي حققت نجاحاً أكبر في إحداث الأثر المرجو كان لديها رسالة واضحة وعمليات راسخة وممارسات حوكمة جيدة.

ولكن مع الأسف، ليس لدى جميع المؤسسات العاملة في هذا القطاع الثبات والقوة اللازمة لتحقيق ذلك. فقد كشفت أبحاث مؤسسة “إيبيك” عن وجود نقاط ضعف في قطاع المؤسسات غر الربحية، حيث تبين أن نسبة 31% من المؤسسات المشاركة في الاستبيان لا يمكنها وضع إطار واضح للأثر الذي تهدف إلى تحقيقه، بينما أفادت نسبة 41% بعدم وجود إجراءات لمتابعة وقياس الأثر لديها. وبالمثل، أظهرت أبحاثنا أن الجهات المعنية في بيئة العطاء الاجتماعي أدركت الحاجة إلى تحسين ممارسات الحوكمة في قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك، لم يتم تحديد كيفية إجراء ذلك التحسين بوضوح.

فضلاً عن ذلك، أفادت نسبة 84% من المؤسسات غير الربحية الخاضعة لدراسة مؤسسة “إيبيك” بأن غياب التمويل المستدام الممتد لعدة سنوات من قبل الجهات المانحة يعد من المعوقات الرئيسية التي تواجهها في سبيلها لتحقيق أقصى أثر. إن العلاقة الحالية بين الجهات المانحة والمؤسسات غير الربحية هي في أغلب الحالات علاقة خطية، أي أن الجهات المانحة تقدم التمويل والجهات المنفذة تقدم تقارير بإنجازاتها. وبالنظر إلى الزيادة في العطاء الاجتماعي الاستراتيجي، والذي يركز بصورة أكبر على التأثير الاجتماعي طويل الأجل، فإن هذا النموذج لا يعتبر مستداماً. إن جميع الجهات العاملة في هذا القطاع تشارك بصورة أو بأخرى في متابعة وتقييم الممارسات ولكن تنشأ حالة عدم الفعالية نتيجة لغياب الفعالية في تخصيص التمويل ونقاط الضعف الهيكلية في قطاع المؤسسات غير الربحية.

ما هي الخطوات المستقبلية؟
إن الخطوة الأولى تجاه حل هذه المشكلة التي تواجه قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي هي تركيز الجهود على تقييم الأثر. في القطاع المالي، تتم الاستعانة بأدوات احترافية لتقييم العائد على الاستثمار، وبالمثل يجب تقييم الأثر في قطاع العطاء الاجتماعي بطريقة احترافية.

وفي إطار جهودها لتعزيز فعالية العطاء، تعمل مؤسسة “إيبيك” كوسيط بين الجهات المانحة والمؤسسات غير الربحية، حيث تقوم بتحليل بيانات الأثر التي تقدمها المؤسسات غير الربحية، والتأكد من صحتها وتقديم ملخص بها للجهات المانحة لضمان تحقيق عطائها للأثر المرجو منه. ومن هنا، يكون قياس الأثر الاجتماعي عملية لا تشمل المؤسسات غير الربحية فحسب، بل تشمل أيضاً الجهات المانحة والجهات الوسيطة.

لقراءة التقرير كاملاً يرجى زيارة الموقع: https://epic.foundation/impact-solutions/outlook-2018.
لمعرفة المزيد عن جهود مبادرة بيرل مع الجهات العاملة في بيئة العطاء الاجتماعي والعمل غير الربحي في منطقة الخليج، يرجى زيارة الموقع:
https://www.pearlinitiative.org/#!/philanthropic-and-non-profit-excellence

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

سجل للحصول على اخر اخبارنا

سجل في نشرتنا بعنوان بريدك الإلكتروني حتى تكون أول من يعلم بآخر مستجدات موائدنا المستديرة ومنشوراتنا


    Sign up for our Newsletter

    Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.

Epic Outlook 2018
Epic Outlook 2018
Author: Lamia Adi

The Epic Foundation, a global non-profit organsiation that works with donors and organisations and provides solutions to enhance the effectiveness of giving, launched its Epic Outlook 2018 report earlier in March and has since been on a world tour sharing insights and spurring discussions on global trends in philanthropy. Last week I attended their report launch in Dubai strategically located at Dubai Future Accelerators and facilitated by Nicola Crosta, Executive Vice President at Epic Foundation.

What are some of the global trends in philanthropy?

Nicola started the conversation with the very first trait that characterises philanthropy all over the world: the lack of data. On the subject he said, “philanthropy is a sector where everybody has an opinion about, but no data to back their opinion.”

Having acknowledged the lack of availability of data globally and in the region, the Pearl Initiative launched its own research and published findings in “The State of Governance in Philanthropy – Gulf Region” report. Our research shows that the lack of research on the philanthropic and non-profit ecosystem is a major issue in the region. Data and statistics have the potential to not only enhance transparency and accountability in the ecosystem, but also encourage stronger partnerships and collaborations.

Therefore, the first step to enhancing the effectiveness of giving is to gather data. The Epic Foundation’s research across 3,500 non-profit organisations and social enterprises reveals insights on what’s working, what needs improvement and what’s next for the sector.

What’s working and what’s not…

It is undeniable that non-profit organisations play a strategic role in the development of societies. Social activists and social entrepreneurs have come up with innovative ideas to tackle the increasingly complex nature of today’s social problems. Organisations that have been more successful in achieving their impact have clear missions, solid operations and good governance practices.

Unfortunately, not all organisations operating in the sector are robust. The Epic Foundation’s research reveals that there is a structural weakness in the non-profit sector. 31% of the organisations surveyed cannot articulate the impact they aim to achieve and 41% do not have any impact monitoring measures in place. Similarly, our research shows that stakeholders in the ecosystem have recognised the need to improve governance practices in philanthropy. However, how to improve these practices was not clear.

Moreover, 84% of non-profit organisations researched by Epic Foundation claim that the lack of sustainable, multi-year funding from donors is a key barrier to achieving maximum impact. The current relationship between donors and non-profit organisations is mostly linear where donors provide the funding and organisations report on their achievements. Given the rise of strategic philanthropy, which focuses more on long-term social impact, this model is proving to be unsustainable. All actors in the sector are somehow engaged in monitoring and evaluation practices, however inefficiencies arise due to the inefficient allocation of funding and structural weaknesses in the non-profit sector.

What’s next?

The first step to addressing this problem in the sector is to focus efforts on impact evaluation. In the world of finance, professional tools are used to assess return on investment and similarly, impact evaluation in the philanthropic sector should be assessed professionally.

In an effort to enhance the effectiveness of giving, the Epic Foundation works as an intermediary between donors and non-profit organisations. They analyse data on impact provided by non-profit organisations, validate and summarise the data for donors to ensure their giving yields the intended impact. As such, measuring social impact becomes a process that involves not only the organisations, but also the donors and intermediaries.

To read the full report visit: https://epic.foundation/impact-solutions/outlook-2018.

To find out more about the Pearl Initiative’s work with the Philanthropic and Non-Profit Ecosystem in the Gulf Region, visit: https://www.pearlinitiative.org/#!/philanthropic-and-non-profit-excellence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Sign up for our Newsletter

Register your email with us and be the first to know about our latest roundtables and publication.